The Law Office of Kenneth Berger is offering a yearly $1,000 scholarship to a student who is either preparing for their first year of college or is currently enrolled full time at a college or university.

Our firm serves catastrophically injured people throughout South Carolina. All too often, we see the horrible effects of texting and driving on our state’s roadways. With this scholarship offering, we not only want to help students overcome the financial challenges of pursuing higher education, but also highlight the dangers of distracted driving with the hope of eliminating it altogether.

Scholarship Eligibility

  • Must be attending or planning to attend a university or college in the United States during the Fall 2023 semester
  • Must be a United States resident
  • Must be able to provide a school transcript or acceptance letter proving your enrollment

How to Apply

To apply for the Law Office of Kenneth Berger scholarship, students must complete the application form attached below and write an essay on the dangers of distracted driving and what should be done to reduce or eliminate it. The essay must be at least 500 words, but not exceeding 1,000 words long.

South Carolina Scholarship Application download button

Both the application and the essay may be submitted via email to [email protected] or by mail to:

LOKB Scholarship

5205 Forest Dr

Columbia, SC 29206


For any questions regarding the scholarship application process, please email Chelsea Fullerton at [email protected].


We are currently accepting submissions for the Fall 2023 semester. All materials must be submitted by April 30, 2023.

Scholarship recipients will be chosen after the application period has closed. By submitting your essay, you agree that it may be featured on our website. Only the winner will be notified.

Congratulations to Our Previous Scholarship Winners!


Kaemon Silas Edmonson - First Place - $1,000 Scholarship

Voné Whaley - Second Place - $500 Scholarship

Linds Sanders - Third Place - $250 Scholarship


Emily Ord - First Place - $1,000 Scholarship

Ishaani Khatri - Second Place - $500 Scholarship

Kayleigh Spencer - Third Place - $250 Scholarship

Nicholas Hsu - Honorable Mention - $150 Scholarship

Vanessa Massel - Honorable Mention - $150 Scholarship

Meia Schram - Honorable Mention - $150 Scholarship


Lauren Chen - First Place - $1,000 Scholarship

Ehitohan Iyile - Second Place - $500 Scholarship

Travis Johnson - Third Place - $250 Scholarship